New Life

Things are starting to come to life! My forsythia are coming into flower now – I have one in the back garden and one propagated from it in the front garden. They are providing some much needed cheer. Another harbinger of spring: I spotted my first brimstone butterfly of the year flutter across the garden yesterday. Not the first butterfly of the year though; I saw a red admiral a couple of weeks ago.

About a month ago I took some lavender cuttings and two of them seem to have taken and are making new green growth. It’s probably not the right time of year to be taking them but my conservatory is warm so I thought I’d give it a go. I also have some baby succulents growing from some leaves that broke off. It’s amazing how easily some plants will root!

Outside I have made up some pots with fritillaries (Fritillaria meleagris) and grape hyacinths (Muscari armeniacum) which are starting to come out now. I love the chequerboard pattern on the fritillary flowers, and I think the new grape hyacinth inflorescences look like little blue conifer trees!

Leave a Reply

